Tube Turners

I know, this sounds like an odd post. And it is an odd term for something seemingly very simple. Until now, I had always turned all my tubes (typically, these are the parts of an apron that will become the ties at the neck and back) by hand. Sort of a pain, but when you’re only doing 2-4 it’s fine.

Then I got this big custom order, and my “current project” box was so full, I had to make another one. The second box was full of apron ties only. 40 of them.

You guys. This was going to take FOREVER! So I put it off for several days. I then felt woefully behind. What a cycle.

Then I made this discovery:

If I could edit that picture to have hearts and rainbows and unicorns, I would. But frankly, I just finished turning 40 tubes and I don’t have the time, as I am just caught up on my timeline.

Simple and great discoveries that just make you day are the best.

About punkrockpigtails

Crafty mama, wife, veteran. Creating retro & rockabilly styles for women & kids! View all posts by punkrockpigtails

3 responses to “Tube Turners

  • handmedowndesigns

    That tool is fantastic! I think I need to get one! Do you think the big one would be strong enough to turn denim?

    Keep up the great work!

  • Donielle Schipper

    That looks very interesting! I too, hate turning those “tubes” whenever I’m making something that calls for them. That doesn’t happen very often, though, because I tend to avoid patterns that call for it!
    How does that tool work? It looks like a pretty simple design, but I can’t figure out how it would make turning easier?

  • punkrockpigtails

    Thanks ladies!

    I don’t think they would be strong enough to turn denim, although there is a metal version that looks like a long crochet hook that would definitely work! This particular tool works by clipping to one end of the tube, allowing you to roll it over the clipped end and turn it the correct way out. It’s easier because you don’t have to shove your fingers in the tube and turn it bit by bit, it does it in just a couple pulls depending on the size of the tube!

Leave a Reply

